The Political Machine

I haven’t posted much in the way of blogs in recent months, and I need to change that. However, a video I saw today caught my eye.

Last year, I posted a blog about National Coming Out Day. This year, that day came and went during the Tokyo Game Show, so it wasn’t on my radar exactly. Instead of posting more thoughts about it this year, I decided instead to post this video. I am not a political individual. I have never carried a picket sign, and I vote privately without making much of a fuss. I have strong beliefs but as a rule I keep them close to my chest and I am not vocal about a great many things, nor do I expect I would change any minds if I vocalized them. I say this because this video is related to Proposition 8, a referendum that, if the majority of the public votes “yes” on, will amend the California state constitution to prohibit gay marriage.

As a gay man I have deep feelings on this issue, and I don’t think I need to detail why that is. But in case you don’t know why I would care, perhaps the following video will help explain it. If you want more information on the circumstances of this video, please see the camera operator’s thoughts here. She decided to start filming a group of Prop 8 supporters as they picketed in Oakland, CA, These are the hateful results.

**Edit: The embed doesn’t work from Vimeo for some reason, so I apologize for lack of embedded video. But by all means, click to the page above. It’s shocking.**

If you live in California, please vote no on Prop 8. Please.

~ by fiddlecub on October 29, 2008.

5 Responses to “The Political Machine”

  1. As a prominent video game journalist, you have a large audience that your voice can reach. This blog is a step in the right direction for advocacy and visibility. If you’re encouraging others to vote next month, however, you should do more to detail your personal steps in the voting process. How do you register to vote? What’s your plan on voting day? Why is this election important? Why should one vote? We can’t rely on others to take action for us. We have to take the first step. The kind of potential influence you wield should not be taken lightly. One could argue, Kevin, why you have waited so long to make a post about this (this Prop has been around since summer and the election is less than a few days away). Most importantly, why is gay marriage important? Is it a human rights issue? What does equality exactly mean? Sometimes staying closeted about your beliefs still means you’re still in the closet.

  2. http://www.giantbomb.com/forums/off-topic/31/a-message-to-all-registered-california-voters/115144/#1

    I’m spreading the word for you, Kevin.

  3. Don’t you love how all the old people (with old world beliefs) with the power to propose laws to tax and take away your rights are frantically legislating their beliefs upon us before they die out and we take over.
    The same group of people who think. “video games are just for kids” because they didn’t grow up with them.

    Whatever the outcome there is hope for the future.
    My group of friends all mid 20’s to early 30’s and all straight could really give a shit about same sex marriages because we all share the belief that if someone can find happiness in the comfort of another persons arms no matter the gender then let em fuckin’ do it.
    I don’t see what the big problem is with that.
    Isn’t the part of the point of being alive to find things in life that you enjoy while you are here without hurting others?

    Here’s to hoping when our generation comes into power that the majority of them feel the same way and can focus on important things like finding ways people can co-exist better instead of legislating hate.

    It sucks to have to wait so long for that change but the Great wall of China wasn’t built in a day either.

    If I lived in Cali I’d have your back man.

  4. Sorry prop 8 passed Kevin. I really did my best to get the word about the lies of that bill promoted(being taught in school ect). Obviously I’m a little more forward thinking compared to the rest of California. Being a straight man i feel that you as a gay man should have every right to get married as I do. I don’t care that people don’t like it being called marriage. it does not give them the right to take away the rights from you. That’s why i voted no. Hopefully this gets overturned society can be a little more tolerant again.

  5. Sorry prop 8 passed Kevin. I really did my best to get the word about the lies of that bill promoted(being taught in school ect). Obviously I’m a little more forward thinking compared to the rest of California. Being a straight man i feel that you as a gay man should have every right to get married as I do. I don’t care that people don’t like it being called marriage. it does not give them the right to take away the rights from you. That’s why i voted no. Hopefully this gets overturned society can be a little more tolerant again.

Leave a Reply

 
