Music Update

So I am one of three people that own Zunes, but you know, I am quite happy with my machine. I like its interface, I like the Zune store, and I rarely miss iTunes now that I am used to the alternative. I don’t know why I am mentioning this, but I am.

In any case, I’ve been voraciously craving new music, so amongst other recent purchases (Death Cab for Cutie’s Narrow Stairs, Jason Mraz’s We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things, Ryan Cabrera’s The Moon Under Water), I picked up Foals’ Antidotes, and I am rather impressed with it. Check out this clip:

Here’s the opening track from Mraz’s album, which I think is terrific, partially because it reminds me of a great song by Jon Brion that my friend Carolyn turned me on to some years back.

~ by fiddlecub on May 18, 2008.

10 Responses to “Music Update”

  1. Both songs were pretty good. But personally, I am much more interested in the new Death Cab for Cutie album.

  2. I to have been craving new music. So far I’ve picked up some Incubus, Foo Fighters, Nightwish (AMAZING idea behind this band; you’d probably like it with your love of the orchestra), Fat Boy Slim, magnapop, Kansas, and Queens of The Stone Age. All those guys are really good so far, and that Foals looks great to.

  3. 100% Zune man! I am getting the 80gb next month.

  4. Actually, I think there are four Zunies in the world. You, that guy GUS that posted, some 14-year-old kid that won it in a lobster eating contest and thinks it’s subversive to own one, and Peter Moore. Yeah, I think Peter Moore has one. Just ask him to roll up his sleeve and it’s right there. Yeah, I said it.

    C’mon Kev. iTunes is the best thing to happen to music since the armonica.

    You see, the Zune is like Patti LuPone. You think it’s going to impress you, you’re always looking to give it a chance, and then it just ends up making you want to shake a can of pennies at it to make it go away.

    The only name I recognized in your new music list is Ryanito Cabrera. Actually, I don’t know what his music sounds like, but he looks like a Latino leprechaun and that makes me smile.

  5. How is Narrow Stairs? I’ve heard mixed things, but I have a feeling I’ll like it. 🙂 I’m currently listening to Okkervil River’s album The Stage Names…. it came out last year so it’s not exactly current, but I just picked it up and am really enjoying it. I am also loving Jamie Lidell’s new CD, Jim–check it out if you like Jason Mraz!

  6. There’s some Jamie Lidell to make it easy for you. 😉

  7. Here’s another… I’m totally loving this stuff. 😛

  8. have you seen their other videos? there pretty weird but awesome

  9. i was talking about the Foals

  10. Thank you

Leave a Reply

 
